The club's foundation awarded $7,000 to high school seniors.
At the June 10th breakfast meeting of the North Haven Rotary Club, seven $1,000 scholarships were awarded to graduating seniors at North Haven High School. Ralph Cook, III, this year's chairman of the North Haven Rotary Foundation, presented the awards. The school’s principal, Dr. Russell Dallai, issued the following statement regarding the event:
“North Haven High School is most grateful for the Rotary Club’s support of our students. The seven students who received these generous scholarships are exemplary. They represent their school and town in a way that makes us all proud. My fondest hope for them is that they bring their skills and talents back to North Haven to work and raise their families. Their exposure to the collegiality and good work of the Rotary Club is an experience I am sure they will cherish and will only strengthen their ties to North Haven.”
The stated goals of the seven scholars were as follows: Matthew Brandt – Uconn; Sydney Brooks - Worcester Polytechnic Institute; Allison Carroll – Bowdoin College; Angela DeFilippo – UConn (Health Care Management & Insurance Studies); Jesse Morrow – Northeastern Univeristy  (Engineering);
Amanda Royka – Yale University; and Francesco Scarano – Sacred Heart University (Physical Therapy).
PHOTO: The Principal of North Haven High School introduced 6 of 7 Rotary Club scholarship winners at a recent meeting held at the Breakfast Nook in honor of the recipients. Top (L to R): Allison Carroll, Matthew Brandt & Jesse Morrow. Seated (L to R): Amanda Royka, Sydney Brooks, & Angela DeFilippo. (Not in photo: Francesco Scarano)